UI Logo and Link

Central States Society of Toxicology Meeting

The EHSRC recently co-hosted the CSSOT Annual Meeting featuring the Scientific Theme, "Biological Pathway-Based Approaches in Health Assessment of Environmental Xenobiotics" on November 17-18, 2016 at the University of Iowa College of Public Health. Other programs co-hosting the event include the UI Interdisciplinary Graduate Program in Human Toxicology, the Iowa Superfund Research Program, and the UI College of Public Health. The conference was organized by Andrea Adamcakova-Dodd with assistance from Nancy Wyland.

Keynote speakers were Dr. Kevin Crofton, Deputy Director of the National Center for Computational Toxicology of the US EPA and Dr. James Blattner, Manager of Toxicology in the Human Safety Department at SC Johnson. Dr. Crofton presented on "The Evolution of Computational Toxicology in NCCT," and Dr. Blattner spoke about "The Challenges of Marketing Consumer Products in Chemophobic Society."

EHSRC member Dr. Gabriele Ludewig received the 2016 John Doull Award at the meeting, an annual award which honors the contributions of a CSSOT member to the discipline of toxicology and the chapter. For the last decade, Dr. Ludewig has pursued the question of whether persistent organic pollutants, like polychlorinated biphenyls, could be genotoxins. Past recipients of the John Doull Award include EHSRC members Dr. Larry W. Robertson and Dr. Peter S. Thorne.

Professor Gabriele Ludewig and
Professor Hans-Joachim-Lehmler