AAAS Section U - Statistics

Latest News

(news archive: 2013)
2014 AAAS Annual Meeting
Symposia Developed with Section U Support or Communication

Friday, 14 February, 2014
The Importance of Recreational Mathematics in Solving Practical Problems
Friday, 14 February 2014: 3:00 PM-4:30 PM
Columbus AB (Hyatt Regency Chicago)

Globally Shipped But What’s in the Box? Innovation for Better Container Security
Friday, 14 February 2014: 3:00 PM-4:30 PM
Toronto (Hyatt Regency Chicago)

Saturday, 15 February, 2014
How Big Data Supports Biomedical Discovery
Saturday, 15 February 2014: 8:00 AM-9:30 AM
Regency D (Hyatt Regency Chicago)

Elections Through the Lens of Mathematics
Saturday, 15 February 2014: 8:00 AM-9:30 AM
Grand Ballroom B (Hyatt Regency Chicago)

Data Availability: Making Sure the Gift Keeps Giving
Saturday, 15 February 2014: 10:00 AM-11:30 AM
Regency D (Hyatt Regency Chicago)

Sunday, 16 February, 2014
Re-Identification Risk of De-Identified Data Sets in the Era of Big Data
Sunday, 16 February 2014: 1:30 PM-4:30 PM
Regency C (Hyatt Regency Chicago)

Monday, 17 February, 2014
Statistical Methods for Large Environmental Datasets
Monday, 17 February 2014: 9:45 AM-11:15 AM
Columbus IJ (Hyatt Regency Chicago)

2014 AAAS Section U Business Meeting

Saturday, 15 February 2014, 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Horner (Hyatt Regency Chicago)
The 2014 agenda is located here

Congratulations to Section U Fellows and Officers elected in 2013!


Sallie Ann Keller, Virginia Bioinformatics Institute, Virginia Tech University
Member-at-Large of the Section Committee
Karen Kafadar, Indiana University
Electorate Nominating Committee
Michael Boehnke, University of Michigan
Elizabeth (Betz) Halloran, University of Washington / Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Council Delegate
Linda J. Young, USDA-NASS and University of Florida


Raymond J. Carroll, Texas A&M University
Keith N. Crank, Retired
Barry R. Davis, The University of Texas School of Public Health
Kim-Anh Do, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Mark Scott Kamlet, Carnegie Mellon University
Bani K. Mallick, Texas A&M University
H. Joseph Newton, Texas A&M University
Stephen W. Pierson, American Statistical Association
Robert T. Smythe, Oregon State University
Michael Stein, The University of Chicago

Congratulations to David L. DeMets!

Our current chair elect, Dr. David DeMets, Prfessor of Biostatistics and Medical Informatics at the University of Minnesota has been elected to the Institute of Medicine, a great honor. Join section U in sharing our congratulations!

Meeting Minutes

2013 (draft), 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002

Fellows elected by the Statistics Section in recent years
Learn how to nominate a Member, or Browse a list of current Fellows